Things I Am Thankful For, Part 5

21. Fire.

Campfires and bonfires are my favorites.  There is no food item on this planet that could be cooked over a fire and taste worse than something cooked in an oven.  Meals cooked on a fire are the greatest.

22. Shoes.

They provide protection from diseases and germs, plus warmth all rolled into something light, comfortable, and usually very stylish.  How can anyone not be thankful for shoes?

23.Stuffed animals.

As a child, they were your best friends and your protectors.  As an adult, they are memories of all the joy and innocence that is childhood.  I am thankful to still have my favorites.

24.Curtains or blinds.

There is nothing creepier than staring out a window into the dark abyss that is called “night time.” I am thankful for something to block out that view–plus curtains help hold in warmth in the winter time!

25.Stores.

Isn’t it such a relief to be able to go to the store and purchase whatever you need?  I am thankful that I do not need to make my own fabric to make my own clothes, or grow my own food, or cut my own wood to make my own furniture.  Stores are a wonderful thing.

26. Convenience.

The price for convenience is expensive, but we still buy water bottles and single serving macaroni and cheese cups and microwaveable frozen meals.  They are convenient, and sometimes, that is just what people need on a busy day.  I am thankful for access to convenience when I need it.

27. Spiders.

I hate spiders.  I think they are terrible creatures and I will kill them…if I can work up the courage to get near them.  But despite my rough relationship with spiders, I am still thankful for them.  They eat other bugs that I would rather not find alive in my house.  Other bugs will crawl around during the day, at least the spiders will stay put for the most part.

28. People who tell me I won’t succeed…

Because then I will succeed. I am so thankful for these people who give me motivation to reach my goals.

29. Girl Scouts.

I’m not sure why this did not end up higher on my list, but it should have.  Girl Scouts has given me so many skills that I will use for the rest of my life.  It has also fostered some of the most loving and strong friendships I have.  For me, Girl Scouts isn’t just a hobby, it’s a part of who I am.

30. This blog and my followers.

It has been fun posting on my blog for the past month and a half or so.  I’m hoping that with time this becomes a go to point to share my writing skills with others and learn more about the skills others have to offer.  I can only hope that my readers enjoy reading it just as much as I have enjoyed writing it.

On a side note, for any wondering if I will continue to blog daily now that NaBloPoMo is ending–

Yes, I will continue blogging.  I will try to post everyday, but college can be busy, so it may not always happen.  If I don’t post one day, chances are I will within a day or two, or at the very least once per week.  Just make sure to follow my blog for updates!  Thank you for all of your continued support!

 

 

Leave a Reply

