Things I Am Thankful For, Part 4

16. Transportation.

I am thankful to be able to move from place to place, whether it be by car or train or plane or boat or feet or wheelchair or crutches.  Just to be able to travel is a wonderful way to learn–it is such a blessing.

17. The ability to walk.

On the thought of transportation, I’d like to be more specific.  Breaking my ankle was one of the most eye opening experiences in my life.  I learned how to rely upon others to do basic things like carrying a plate of food or taking a shower.  I am truly blessed to know exactly how much of a blessing the ability to walk is, and for that I am thankful.

18. Glasses and contacts.

I am thankful that someone invented a way for people to be able to see despite failing vision. Without my contacts, I would be nearly legally blind.  I am thankful that I am able to see with the aide of contacts/glasses.

19. Technology.

In this day and age, technology is a controversial thing.  To some it means wasting potential, to others it is encouraging potential.  I would have to fall on the side that to much technology use is bad, but if used correctly in moderation, is one of humanity’s greatest inventions.  I am thankful that with technology my friends and family are a mere phone call away, that with technology I can save all of my writing in a place where it won’t blow away or burn, that I can make a few clicks and know whether or not I will need to wear a coat for the day or not.  Technology is so very useful, and that is why I am thankful for it.

20. Laundry machines/services.

I am thankful that I can put my clothing into a machine, put soap into the machine, press a few buttons, and have clean clothes within a few hours.  I am thankful that I do not have to beat my clothing against rocks in a stream to clean it.  I am thankful that I do not have to scrub my clothing on a washboard in a bucket of water.  Washing machines and dryers are wonderful things.

Leave a Reply

